SCTE Announces 2013 Award Winners

The SCTE (Society for Broadband Professionals) has confirmed the winners of its prestigious 2013 Awards for Technological Innovation. The winners were announced at its annual Gala Dinner on Saturday 23 March 2013 at Drapers’ Hall, London.

The winners and runners up in the three separate award categories are:-


  • ‘Best broadband network transmission solution’ shortlist

Winner:            Teleste Corporation – AC8700 Optical Node

            Runner up:       Harmonic Inc – NSG Pro


  • ‘Best digital processing solution’ shortlist

Winner:            Wisi Communications – Chameleon GNHWUW2

Runner up:       Bridge Technologies – VB330


  • ‘Best CPE solution’ shortlist

Winner:            Asheridge Communications - BarrIER

Runner up:       Motorola Mobility – VAP2400


The winner of the best overall submission and SCTE 2013 Technological Innovation of the Year Award was Teleste Corporation for its AC8700 Optical Node. Last year’s winner of the best overall submission was ARRIS for its Media Services Platform. 

“This has been a fantastic year for our awards, with an impressive selection of entries showing the scope of innovation in the industry,” said Dr Roger Blakeway, PhD, CEng FIEE, FSCTE, President of the SCTE.

The Society also gave out its SCTE Achievement Awards for 2013 at the dinner. The award for SCTE Engineer of the Year 2013 was given to Mathew Hale of Virgin Media who also received a bursary to attend the ANGAcom event in June. The 2013 Richard Harris Member of the Year award went to Dr Laura Baskeyfield of Virgin Media for her commitment and enthusiasm in promoting the SCTE.

The 2013 David Hall award for Best Presentation went to David Woollard, Consultant, for his paper on HPNA. Finally, the 2013 Tom Hall award for Outstanding Services to Broadband Engineering was awarded to Rien Baan of Proditel BV for his outstanding work in setting up the Benelux SCTE group and continuing efforts as its Secretary.

The Society also awarded Honorary Fellowships to Keith Mothersdale and Kevin Barrie for their long time support of the Society.           

Founded in 1945, the SCTE is a Learned Society and non-profit making organisation whose aim is to raise the standard of broadband engineering in the telecommunications industry. The Society particularly concerns itself with the training and career advancement of technical professionals in the field.

For further information, see Sara Waddington on +44 (0)777 3488771 [Main office: +44 (0)1923 815500] or e-mail This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or contact Sheila Lashford or Ellis Irwin on +44 (0)1636 812152 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. 

  • Created on .

© SCTE®. All rights reserved.  
The Society for Broadband Professionals.
Communications House , 41a Market Street, Watford, Herts, WD18 0PN.